Licensure Fees to Decrease Beginning January 1, 2014
Last week, the Department of Health (DOH) announced that beginning January 1, 2014, active license renewal fees for dentists will be reduced by $176. The rule change amends WAC 246-817-990 which dictates dentist licensure fees and renewal cycle. The current dental licensure renewal fee of $576 is the second highest dental licensure fee in the nation.
Dental licenses will still need to be renewed each year on the practitioner’s birthday. Licensee’s with birth dates between now and December 31, 2013 will not benefit from the fee reduction until their 2014 renewal date. All licensees are required to pay the fee listed on their renewal statement.
WSDA has been advocating for lower dental licensure renewal fees for the past year. Last August, WSDA Past President, Dr. Rod Wentworth submitted a letter to the Secretary of Health expressing his concern over the high dental license renewal fees in Washington state and requested DOH take immediate action to address the issue.
The $176 fee decrease incorporates the surcharge increase on dental licenses for the Washington Physicians Health Program (WPHP). House Bill 1534, which was signed into law in May raised the existing surcharge on dental licensure fees for WPHP from $25 to $50. WPHP helps dentists, physicians and other health care practitioners recover from impairing illnesses such as addiction and other physical and mental conditions. WPHP is funded by practitioners enrolled in the program, donations, and license fee surcharges on health care practitioners. The surcharge on physicians and physician’s assistants licenses has been $50 for the past four years.
If you have any questions regarding dental license or fee reductions, contact WSDA Government Affairs Coordinator, Mike Walsh at firstname.lastname@example.org or 800-448-3368.