Live Chat
Washington State Dental Association


The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) is currently in the process of writing rule on dental license fees. Over the last few weeks, WSDA staff have received inquiries about the proposed fee reduction. We compiled a list of some of the most frequently asked questions and answers below to provide WSDA members with more guidance on this issue.

Q: How much will the license fee reduction be?
A: The dental licensure renewal fee is expected to drop by $176 and initial dental license fees are expected to be reduced by $200. A list of current dental license fees can be found online here.

Q: What is the current status on rulemaking on dental license fees?
A: DOH filed the dental license fee reduction rule on July 29, 2013 and the proposal is currently awaiting final approval. DOH is required by law to hold a public hearing to allow for public comments before the rules can be formally adopted. The public hearing for the dental license fee rules is scheduled for September 12, 2013. After the public hearing takes place, DOH will file what is known as a CR103. This is the final step in the rule making process and usually takes 4-6 weeks. After the official filing is complete, rules typically do not take effect for another 31 days.

Q: How long will it take DOH to implement the proposed fee reduction?
A: DOH is anticipating the proposed rules will take effect around the beginning of 2014. This means license holders with early 2014 birthdays will likely be the first licensees to pay the reduced renewal fee. Renewal notices are mailed 6-8 weeks before renewal dates and DOH wants to ensure licensees have the correct statement amount in their renewal fee notice. The first notices with the reduced license fees are scheduled to be mailed in late November and early December for licensees with birthdays in early 2014.

Q: If I submit my renewal fee prior to the date the proposed rules take effect will DOH refund the difference?
A: No. Dentists are required to pay the license renewal fee amount listed on their renewal notice. Fees are determined by the license expiration date, not by the day the renewal fee is processed.

Q: Will the proposed rules impact the process of renewing my dental license?
A: No. The proposed license fee rules will only change the cost of initial and renewed dental licenses. Dentists can still renew their license by mail but are encouraged to renew online.

Q: Does the licensure fee reduction include dental hygienists, dental assistants, or EFDAs?
A: No. The proposed fee reduction will only impact dental licenses.

Please visit the DOH website for license renewal information and to renew your license online.

If you have any questions regarding dental license or fee reductions, contact WSDA Government Affairs Coordinator Mike Walsh at 800-448-3368 or by email at

Posted: / Last Updated: